Wike, El-Rufai, Oyetola, others make list as Akpabio unveils ministerial nominees today

The immediate past Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike, and his colleague from Kaduna, Nasir El-Rufai, have made the list of ministerial nominees.

President Bola Tinubu forwarded the ministerial list to the Senate in the wee hours of Thursday.

The list is coming two days before the President’s deadline as stipulated by the constitution as amended by the ninth Assembly.

Tinubu, according to the 1999 constitution as amended by the Ninth Senate, has barely two days left out of the 60 days deadline stipulated for the President to unveil his cabinet members.

Section 42 of the constitution states that “(a) the nomination of any person to the office of a Minister for confirmation by the Senate shall be done within sixty days after the date the President has taken the oath of office;

(b) not less than ten per cent of persons appointed as Ministers shall be women:

Provided that the President may appoint a Minister at any other time during his tenure and such appointment shall be subject to confirmation by the Senate.”

The piece of legislation further prescribes that the President shall appoint at least a minister from each of the 36 states of the federation.

Earlier, the media aide to the Senate President, Jackson Udom, stated that the authentic ministerial list of President Bola Tinubu would be unveiled today.

He further urged Nigerians to stop speculating and wait for the unveiling of the nominees.

Commenting on the purported social media list, he said, “I saw the purported list too just like every other person did, let’s wait till tomorrow (today). Don’t speculate, tomorrow (today), you’ll see the list.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button