NPFL clubs canvass for Naija Super 8 votes

In the heat of the ongoing 2022/23 abridged Nigeria Professional Football League season, top clubs in the country’s topflight have started making their cases to become fan favourites for the newly-birthed Naija Super 8 tournament which will be held in Lagos by June.

Organizers of the tourney have listed 41 teams across the six geo-political zones of the country to compete in the zonal playoffs. Two clubs with the highest vote tallies in each zone will tackle each other at the zonal play-offs scheduled to hold at the Godswill Akpabio International Stadium, Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, from June 1 to 3.

There are 16 NPFL clubs among the nominated teams while the rest are drawn from other tiers.

The southwest zone have the highest number of teams with eight while southeast and northeast has the lowest number of teams with six teams each. The other zones have seven teams each.

Following the opening of the voting portal, clubs like Rivers United, Nasarawa United and Lobi Stars have begun to appeal to their fans for votes that will qualify them to play in the money-spinning tournament.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button