KWHA 2023: Obayomi Heads To Election Tribunal To Challenge Owolabi’s Victory


The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) House of Assembly Candidate for Share/Oke-Ode Constituency, Barr. Obayomi Azeez Olaitan has approached the Election Petition Tribunal to contest the declaration of Owolabi Olatunde Rasaq of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as Kwara State House of Assembly Member-Elect.

The petition marked: EPT/KW/SHA/01/2023, has INEC; the All Progressives Congress (APC) and Owolabi as the 1st to 3rd respondents.

The petitioners are praying for the tribunal to declare Owolabi as not duly elected with a majority of the lawful votes cast, wanting an order mandating INEC to retrieve the certificate of return issued to the APC candidate.

In a letter obtained by Just Event Online TV on Saturday

Obayomi said it is his decision and that of the PDP that the outcome of the March 18 elections is challenged at the State House Of Assembly Election Petitions Tribunal sitting in Ilorin.

“Our grounds for this petition include that Owolabi was at the time of the election, not qualified to contest the election; that the election of Owolabi was/is invalid by reason of substantial non-compliance with the provisions of the Electoral Act 2022; and also that Owolabi was not duly elected by a majority of lawful votes cast at the election”

“It is our belief that we owe democracy in our country, Nigeria, a duty to help deepen it by taking such an action to reverse the ‘hijacking’ of the popular mandate. It is our faith that the mandate of the Share/Oke-Ode electorates will be restored to our great party as was rightfully given by the people on March 18.”

“PDP is challenging the outcome of the election in a court of competent jurisdiction. We are a peace-loving people and we remain obedient to the constitution of the land and the rule of law,” he said

Obayomi, however, called on the people of the constituency to remain calm, peaceful and steadfast.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button