FG sets up committee for Ondo, Benin sea ports

The Federal Government through the Ministry of Transportation has inaugurated a Project Steering Committee for the proposed Ondo Deep Sea and Benin River Ports.

The inauguration was performed by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani.

This was contained in a statement by the ministry’s Director, Press and Public Relations, Henshaw Ogubike.

Ajani said the committee was is in furtherance of the government’s efforts to further decongest the Western Ports as well as optimise the contributions of the maritime sector to the country’s economy.

Ajani said the terms of reference for the committee are to provide guidance and direction on the projects and also facilitate necessary permits, clearance and approvals for the projects.

She further noted that it will also be the responsibility of the committee to prepare the transaction for the Minister of Transportation, Mu’azu Sambo, to obtain Federal Executive Council’s approval

“Members of the Steering Committee include the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, representatives of the Federal Ministries of Finance and Justice, National Inland Waterways, Nigerian Shippers’ Council, Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission amongst others.

“The Committee is to start work immediately,” the statement read.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button