FG orders NEMA to provide reliefs to flood victims

The National Economic Council on Thursday directed the National Emergency Management Agency to provide immediate intervention and relief to states affected by floods.

It also resolved to develop and articulate a roadmap to address flooding and manage attendant disasters.

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja, Nyesom Wike, revealed this to State House correspondents after the 136th NEC meeting, which was held at the Aso Rock Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Wike said the Governor of Kogi State and Chairman of the Committee on the Impact of Flood and Disaster Across the States in Nigeria, Yahaya Bello, categorised states into A, B and C based on degrees of damage.

Group A states with over 15 points and most affected include Anambra, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Kogi, Nasarawa, Niger, Rivers, Enugu, Kano, Oyo, Yobe and Zamfara.

Group B states with 10-15 points are Cross River, Delta, Jigawa, Kwara and Ondo.

Group C, states with less than 10 points are Katsina, Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Gombe, Imo, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Lagos, Ogun, Osun, Plateau, Sokoto, Taraba and the FCT.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button