By-elections: IG warns troublemakers, restricts movement in 26 states

The Inspector General of Police, Olukayode Egbetokun, on Thursday, ordered the restriction of all forms of vehicular movement on roads, waterways, airspaces, and other forms of transportation from 12 am to 6 pm in the 26 states where the Independent National Electoral Commission will be holding by-elections on Saturday.

This was as he warned troublemakers to stay away from the exercise.

The IG said the restriction order would not affect persons on essential duties, such as INEC officials, electoral observers, accredited journalists, and observers, both foreign and domestic.

The restriction order would also not affect drivers of ambulances responding to medical emergencies, and firefighters, among others.

The states where the by-elections are holding are Ebonyi, Yobe, Kebbi, Lagos, Ondo, Taraba, Benue, Borno, Kaduna, Plateau, Akwa Ibom, Anambra, Cross River, Delta, Enugu, Jigawa, Katsina, Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Kano, Nasarawa, Niger, Oyo, Sokoto, and Zamfara.

The Force Public Relations Officer, Olumuyiwa Adejobi, disclosed this in a statement on Thursday.

Adejobi pointed out that “The movement restrictions, including the ban on VIP aides, escorts, and state security outfits, are crucial measures aimed at preventing any undue interference or intimidation during the electoral process.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button