16 Ogun PDP Assembly candidates drag APC, INEC to tribunal

Sixteen House of Assembly candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party in Ogun State have filed petitions before the election petitions tribunal in Isabo, Abeokuta, the Ogun State capital, against the All Progressives Congress candidates.

The APC candidates were declared winners by the Independent National Electoral Commission in the March 18 governorship and House of Assembly elections held in the state.

Our correspondent gathered on Monday that the petitioners alleged non-compliance with the Electoral Act among others.

The petitioners claimed several infractions occurred during the elections such as disruption of polling units, violence, snatching of ballot boxes and others.

They prayed the tribunal to order their return, claiming that they polled the majority votes.

The aggrieved politicians were candidates of the PDP for Abeokuta North, Abeokuta South II, Ado-Ota I & II, Ewekoro, Ifo II, Imeko-Afon, Ijebu-Ode, Ijebu-North II, Sagamu II, Obafemi-Owode, Odeda, Ipokia, Yewa-North I & II and Yewa-South.

Represented by their counsel, Dr Hassan Balogun, the petitioners joined the Independent National Electoral Commission, the All Progressives Congress and the respective elected APC candidates as respondents.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button